Commuter Drag

A reminder: We are all fragile. Our youth, health and fitness are only temporary. We cannot take them for granted. Instead, grab hold of each day, be young, be healthy, be fit. There will be time enough to indulge in old age and ill health one day. Just not today.

Ms Lab Rat

I am commuting today to the NIH for my monthly dose of MS medication. Look around the airport. You won’t pick me out. I am streamlined, like every serious commuter. I know which security line is actually the shorter one. I know the latest TSA regulations. I don’t flinch at the full body scanner. My boots are easily unzipped.
My red Chrome messenger bag is a red herring. I haven’t straddled a bicycle in over a year. Not since I kept falling off. But I can look like I still ride a bike. I can pass, at least for the outgoing flight.
I am not the one fumbling with her shoelaces, or the one in the wheelchair. I am not the one in that golfcart-like vehicle. I am not the one boarding the tram.
I am the one strutting to the gate.
I am not the one on the people mover. I am not the one on the elevator.
Whenever possible, I am…

View original post 151 more words

Leave a Reply

