Preparing for the Winelands Marathon

Week 2 of 8

Went out on my first official mid-week training run (after the Cape Town Marathon) last night. The weekend’s Cape Town Classic 21.1 km was the first official LSD after a week of no running.

I decided to combine my Winelands Marathon project with the Get The Kid to 10 kay project, and hauled her reluctant little butt out the front door and into the streets. She delayed so long that the overcast-but-fine weather had turned to overcast-and-now-raining weather. I stood under the shelter of the afdakkie and considered seeking refuge in the dry, airconditioned safety of the gym … Treadmill, maybe? Ugh …!

It turns out that The Kid doesn’t mind a bit of rain. She caused some more delay once we were outside on the pavement and ready to go – ‘Maybe I need a warmer jacket,’ she said. And went back inside. I remained Zen.

We made it onto the fanwalk, though, and she did well. Ran a full kilometre without stopping, walking or complaining, at a 6:44/km pace. Then she became too confident and sprinted off into the distance, only to double over, gagging and looking desperate, a few hundred metres further.

‘Too fast,’ I said unsympathetically as I trotted past her. She glared at me.

Some fellow runners, on their way to track, drove past and waved. I felt a little bit redeemed – if you don’t appear at track, it’s assumed that you’re not running. But I had witnesses to my dedication: I was out there, running, and in the rain, nogal. Hardcore!

My run consisted of running up ahead of The Kid, doubling back, running next to her for a few paces, listening to her health report (‘I feel as if ten thousand knives are stabbing into my stomach’), telling her to walk it off, running ahead, doubling back, pausing to listen to another health report, telling her she didn’t have to push so hard, running off … and so on, for 6,4 km.

I’m not sure how long I’ll be able to combine the two projects, as running with a (resistant) beginner when you want to get on with your training requires a certain skill set. But I’ve signed her up for a 10 km fun run at the end of October and so I suppose I have a responsibility to make sure that she gets to experience the ‘fun’ part as well as some of the ‘run’.

But, running in the rain with my daughter, keeping a relaxed pace of around 6:45/km felt really good. Before the Cape Town Marathon I felt nervous and worried. My runs were a job that I had to do. I had to accumulate miles in the legs, time on the feet. I worried that I wasn’t improving. I had also had some kind of bug for two weeks, which slowed me right down and caused me to worry more. My horrendous marathon day performance seems to have kicked me into a new gear. I feel excited. I can’t wait to get to my next training run and I can’t wait to get to the start line of the races (ehr-hum … training runs with marshals and water stations and, possibly, toilets (and a medal at the end)) I have signed up for. I’m like a kid waiting to open her Christmas presents.

The Significant Other’s snoring woke me up at about 1:30 this morning. I couldn’t get back to sleep. My legs were twitchy after my run and the half-hour dog walk afterwards, and I kept thinking about the Gun Run, which is two weeks from now. In my mind, I keep fast-forwarding to the Winelands. I’m keen to get there. I want to line up. I want to run. I doubt I can conquer such a hilly route in under five hours, but I want to get there, nonetheless. I want the challenge of running a tough marathon, whatever the outcome. I just want to feel as I should have felt running the Cape Town Marathon.

Big girl panties(Pic from http://pfitblog.com/2012/12/09/pull-up-your-big-girl-panties-workout/

Leave a Reply

